Scary Spongebob is Scary

2024, Feb 25


Scary Spongebob is Scary...hmm.

Okay. This story begins on a dark night a few months ago, in my bedroom, when I watched this unsettling video. It's a fan recreation of the fabled Spongebob glitch of 2005, Jul 25 (that never happened).

I find myself being easily scared. This was one of those times. I went to bed, trying to block out the intrusive thoughts, lest I have a nightmare.

However, while I didn't have a nightmare that night, I did have a realisation. Recently, I decided to steel up. I watched the whole video, properly this time, and managed to confirm my suspicions. I don't know how far this problem runs in the creepypasta video community, but I suspect it runs quite far. Here it is:

The video is inplausable.

Let me explain.

The video starts off with the standard inclusion for the 'pasta: Spongebob tastes the floor + Gary in the shoe. However, in this version, this is followed up by a signal hijack. This is where most of the horror is contained, in my opinion. There's even lore of some kind, too. I managed to figure out that:

Okay, so far so good....?

......I'm not joking. Maybe I'm an idiot. Also, for lols;

But wait, that's not all! Even on my first viewing, I was under the impression that perhaps the hijacker was trying to contact someone young. I mean, it makes sense, right? It's cartoons. Kids like cartoons. However, why is the video so scary? I would not want to see something like that as a kid. Based on the text shown, he is probably using some archaic equipment to produce the broadcast. This really contributes to the video's uneasiness. He could have used Windows Movie Maker (released in 2000) or something similar for a much more polished look. Except the final "THANK YOU" does have this polished look I was taking about, using what looks like Nick's trademark font at the time. And then there's a big white face. I'm not joking.

Okay, maybe the scariness was a necessary evil to stop the child from tuning out. Keep the target transfixed. Maybe even spread the word at school the next morning.

And for my final point, How did the hijacker even...hijack the signal? In my mind, a signal hijack like that would need some hardcore equipment, including one of those old satalite TV dishes, to jam the video downlink or something. Again, maybe I'm wrong, but that must have ben a very desperate plea.

.......

Okay. Maybe I'm wrong about the whole thing. Maybe, in universe, it was never about the kid(s). It could have very well been a sick joke. In that case, the video regains practically all of it's feasability. Sorry.

_____ _____ _____


So, what have we learnt?


<- Go back